My landscape photography
comments 3

My Quest of Upgrading My Photography Equipments

As a photography enthusiast…I frequently had a discussion with my fellow photography enthusiast in the office. In one of the discussion we were discussing about a full frame camera against DX format (this is a Nikon term of the non full frame DSLR cameras). He said that if you are into landscape photography, you need to have a full frame camera as it will capture a bigger view than a DX format body. Well I think I’ve learned something today…. Obviously I am not §that good in photography that I didn’t know this basic knowledge.

Well what are the difference between full frame camera and the DX format?

Well this is what happens:

 

Full frame camera size compare to DX format camera size comparison. Image taken from wikipedia

The conclusion of taking pictures with DX format camera is the cropping factor, which prevents me from capturing the whole image frame. It’ll only capture ¾ of the whole frame.

The idea of taking pictures with only capture ¾ of the whole frame keep on bugging me, however, he carries on showing me his other pictures which was taken by his full frame body and was really amazing…. He went on saying, “…this is with a full frame camera body, you can’t get the same result if it’s with a DX body.”

That was really annoys me and from then on, I decided to buy a full frame body! “but Nina, your lenses are mostly DX lens, it’s not compatible with full frame body…” (my camera gear is here:https://ninstravelog.files.wordpress.com/2010/10/landscape-photography1.jpgabout-2/) It means the built in autofocus system of the lens will not work with Full Frame body.

Well, what I learned from this is that if I want to upgrade to a full frame body I will need to change the whole set, camera body as well as the lenses…. So much for the term of interchangeable lens!

Going back to my original question: as a photography enthusiast, do I need to upgrade my gear to a full frame format? This is an interesting website on why Should I Upgrade My DSLR? The whens and whats of upgrading. In that website, suggested to first upgrade my lenses into fast lenses first before upgrading the body. For instance, my ever popular lens:

18-200mm DX f/3.5-5-6 G ED VR II , which cover the angle of 76o to 8°

is equal to 2 FX type lenses:

24-70mm AF-s f/2.8 G ED and covers the angle of 84o-34o20’ and

70-200mm AF-S f/2.8 G ED VRII, covers angle of 34o20’-12o-20’

Once I own these lenses, then maybe it’s worth to have a full frame body. On the other hand, another question popping up: “do I need a fast zoom lens? What is fast lens use for? What genre of photography am I?

As I explore my interest in photography, I think I am into Landscape photography: this is an example:

 

My landscape photography

However, the insecurity feeling of those photography enthusiasts with its cropping factor is still there, or at least that is what I felt with my camera gear. But as I study more of each type of lens, both FX format and DX format comes with it’s specific range that capture every angle, depends on which angle you are looking for. Below is an example of angle they capture.

DX LENSES FX LENSES
10-24 mm f/3.5-4.5 109°-61° £  649.00 16-35mm f/4 104°-63° £   899.00
      17-35mm f/2.8* 104°-62° £ 1,799.00
18-200 mm f/3.5-5.6 76°-8° £  549.00 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6 75°-8°10’ £   869.00
      24-70mm f/2.8* 84°-34°20’ £ 1,189.00
      70-200mm f/2.8* 34°20’-12°20’ £ 1,639.00

*Option on fast lens.

Going back to the original question: do I need to change to a full frame body camera with my current situation? After learning and comparing the above diagram; the answer to that is maybe I don’t need to upgrade, as investing for an FX format lens is so much more expensive. However, if I am concerned about the clarity, quality and noise, yes, maybe I need to change it to a full frame camera, but right now, I am still only a photography enthusiast, not yet a professional, I don’t earn anything from my hobby. Thus I will stick with my D90 for the time being, until I am good enough to take a bigger step, and move to be a serious photographer….

Filed under: eJournal, Online Life

About the Author

Posted by

I used to live as an expat and travel around the Middle East. After 10 years working in the Arabian Gulf I am now retired and living in the UK with my British husband but still retain my interests of further travels and exploring new horizons in Europe.

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for leaving me a comment! You also like photography!! As you probably know, I do, too! It’s nice that you have an DSLR! Mine is still a point and shoot. I am hoping to get a DSLR sometime in 2011. I have to start saving money for it!

    Like

  2. I forgot to mention that I think you’re making a right decision. I would do the same. If your body is not affecting the clarity or quality of photos, I would not switch. It is so much for the investment!

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2010 | Nins' Travelog

I love to hear from you...

