The Qatar National Museum
comments 2

Preparing for the New Year

It’s the 31st of December, the end of the year, and I decided to get up really early to see the Doha getting ready to for the New Year. Thus I woke up even earlier than normal, actually normally I wake up at 5am as office starts at 6.30 in the morning. However, today I decided to be ‘on location’ at 5.00 AM instead. Basically to see the sky changed its colour.

The Corniche in Doha is always my favorite place to take a bit of photo shoot as to my view it is very photogenic from all angle, all day long, and all season; except maybe during sand storm.

These are some of the result of the landscape photograph I took.

The Qatar National Museum

The Qatar National Museum, which was under construction during the first years in Doha, but now it’s been open for more than a year. This building was designed by the renown Chinese American Architect, I.M. Pei. Looking at it during day time, to be honest, I was not very impressed at it, but with the help of lighting design. The shape and angle of the building makes it looks a very interesting building.

I was lucky this morning that the lights still on.

Still sitting at the same spot and looking to the other direction, Doha still looks pretty, these are the example, the skyscrapers across the half circle shape Cornishe were very colourful and the reflection of the lights on the water making it lovelier.

View of West Bay

However, as this is between 5 to 6 o’clock in the morning, some street lights have been turned off, which make some part of the city is not as bright as it should be. Had I took the picture in the evening during ‘blue-hour’, the city could be more colourful.

waiting for sunrise

the sun is rising

Corniche in the morning were also popular for accidental fisherman, who try to catch a few small fishes… they don’t really care if this is the last day of the year or any other day, they just do it as a hobby, for fun and to kill the time.

Filed under: eJournal, Travel Notes

About the Author

Posted by

I used to live as an expat and travel around the Middle East. After 10 years working in the Arabian Gulf I am now retired and living in the UK with my British husband but still retain my interests of further travels and exploring new horizons in Europe.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: 2010 | Nins' Travelog

I love to hear from you...

