Above Syria, with snowy mountain surounding it
comment 0

Syria in March

Finally I am visiting other Middle Eastern countries. Yes, I live in Qatar and I lived in Bahrain, I’ve been to Dubai and Abu Dhabi, but that’s about it. I have been living in the GCC countries for almost 6 years, but never visited the neighbouring countries. This is my big opportunity to visit other Arab Countries as I booked a guided tour with Exodus Travel to visit Syria and Jordan.

This is March, where in Northern Europe snow is falling but not in Southern Europe, thus I assumed Syria would be warmer; however, the morning before we left Doha, a friend of my husband, who is Syrian called saying that :”Damascus was snowing last night, thus pack your warm clothes!”

We were laughing and thinking what he said was a joke, as to repack our bags was impossible as we were only minutes before we leave for the airport. Anyway, in the end we took a warmer jacket, just in case! Our thoughts were by the end of our trip, both Syria and Jordan were supposed to be warmer, besides, Jordan is located more to the south than Syria.

Six hours later, after a stopover in Dubai for a 2 hour change of flights, we arrived in Damascus airport at 3 o clock in the afternoon. I saw people who were wearing summer clothes in Doha and Dubai airport, were putting on their thick winter jackets!!!

A friend of a friend who picked us up from the airport was also wearing his winter jacket, so was his wife.

Lesson learned: We should have listened to local advice and weather forecast up to the last minutes, but what about our packing strategy???

Filed under: eJournal, Travel Resources

About the Author

Posted by

I used to live as an expat and travel around the Middle East. After 10 years working in the Arabian Gulf I am now retired and living in the UK with my British husband but still retain my interests of further travels and exploring new horizons in Europe.

I love to hear from you...

