comments 5

Becoming an Actress in Qatar

A Profession as an actress was the last thing on my mind.  Yes, it gives one a glamorous image of dreaming that I am Julia Roberts, or Angelina Jolie, or lets say the currently top Indonesian Actress, Dian Sastro.  But that is not really the life for me.  However, my husband always jokingly fancied himself as film star material with the idea of becoming a celebrity and posing in front of the camera.

Back in Indonesia, the idea of becoming famous was beyond my wildest dreams as I would be competing with the other two hundred something million Indonesians.    On the other hand, in Qatar and Syria, the opportunity to be a STAR  seems more realistic.

During my visit to Syria, a bunch of Syrian girls asked me to pose with them, as if I were a superstar.  To them, meeting an Indonesian tourist in a small alleyway in the Old City of Damascus was a rare thing.

Posing with my Syrian fan😉

A very special occasion was when I and my husband were asked to model in a video clip to promote two new up-market restaurants in the Pearl, Qatar.  My main reason was simple, to get a free dinner, so that I didn’t have to cook at home.   The result: BRILLIANT!! check this out, courtesy of Jan Xavier Pacle, a video clip maker.

PAMPANO

The Pearl-Qatar, PA01
T: =974 4953876 ext. 1221 F: +974 4953846
w: http:www.hdc-global.com
Filed under: eJournal, Expat Archive

About the Author

Posted by

I used to live as an expat and travel around the Middle East. After 10 years working in the Arabian Gulf I am now retired and living in the UK with my British husband but still retain my interests of further travels and exploring new horizons in Europe.

5 Comments

    • Nin

      Yes, but it seems that it was Keith who enjoys the acting job more… besides he got more exposure there….

      Like

  1. Pingback: Cocktail | Nins' Travelog

I love to hear from you...

