Is blogging a full time job?
comments 12

Packing List

Passport, wallet, ticket, etc.

Unlike most women, I used to travel light whenever I go on trip, either day trip, overnight business trip or backpacking with friends/sister. Here is my packing list for those travels:

  1. ESSENTIAL: passport, tickets, address book, mobile phone (in the old days, we don’t use mobile, but we rely on public telephone booth), credit card, and international ATM card, in exchange to cash.
  2. CLOTHING: one pair of trousers that I use and an extra pair if I travel more than 3 nights. Disposable underwear, that will reduce space along the way, and I don’t need to do any washing for this things.
  3. CLOTHING ACCESSORIES: none. I don’t need any hat or scarf or anything alike.
  4. ACCESSORIES/JEWELRIES: none. As I am a messy person, I tent to loose things, this is only to reduce to probability of loosing my accessories.
  5. COSMETICS AND TOILETRIES: only the basic one… nothing very special and I don’t really wear makeup. Bear in mind that most of my destinations were not in the middle of a jungle where I could not find any daily supplies.
  6. OTHER THINGS: pocket camera, map (just to prepare myself not to get lost), travel alarm clock, a pair of very comfortable shoes which I wore it day in, day out.

As I am not a fussy person, and I don’t need a special treatment nor health problem, thus I don’t really need much. One tote bag was enough for a 3 night business trip or a dirty weekend abroad.

Now things changed, as an expat, my home is away from my home country. Whenever I go back to my home country, I could not stay at my Mom’s place, as she has no room for me anymore, and I still need to pack my cloth and other things, which means going ‘home’ is similar to going for holiday, and this could last not only a few days but a fortnights or maybe a month by itself. Another thing that add to my travel preparation is the fact that I am not traveling solo anymore. I have to pack for two persons, my husband and I, and yet, I still like to travel light…. thus, what I did is try to pack for the both of us in one medium suitcase…. yes, only one

However, as we live on the funny part of the world from our loved ones, I need to consider:

  1. Local climate/weather, as out here (that is in Doha) 9 months of the year the temperature is HOT, HOT and HOT. Clothing wise maybe not so different from Indonesia, but it’s totally different from UK (where Keith got his relatives) or Australia (where our kids currently resides).
  2. The occasion of the trip, such as attending business trip, family wedding, normal holidaying/sight seeing or attending traditional/religious activity or even a combination of all of them.
  3. Activities of the trip, whether we will just visiting family and stay low keys, or involving different activities together.
  4. The length of the trip, whether 2 or 3 days, or a months or more.

As much as the excitement of going for holiday, this time this is what i ends up packing for only a 5 days trip back to UK, attending my husband’s relative:

  1. ESSENTIALS: passports, tickets (and other paper works in a folder, mobile phone, and travel wallet, where I will put all other cards, (International ATM, Credit Cards, and maybe cash.
  2. CLOTHING: a couple pairs of trousers/jeans (in case one is soak wet of British weather), a couple of cocktail dress, (as we are attending a couple of formal parties), sets of undies as no disposable panties available in the place I live.
  3. CLOTHING ACCESSORIES: I need to pack all these things, hat, belts to go with each attires, and scarfs to match with the shirts
  4. ACCESSORIES/JEWELRIES: it’s a must now, to go with all the pretty dresses that I will wear to different parties. Being a wife of a Brit’s expat I need to look fashionable, trendy and all that jazz.
  5. COSMETIC & TOILETRIES: also required now, just to make sure that inside the nice dress is also equally as nice. Because I am not use to wear make up, I ends up taking my whole collection of cosmetics, regardless, as i don’t really know what to do.

    1205-11 cosmetics

    toiletries & cosmetics

  6. CAMERA: what was a pocket camera now has grown into a proper photography gear, which each time I travel, I got confuse which lens I should take and which camera bag should I carry. Not to mention other external stuff:  charger, memory cards, tripod, filters, etc.

    camera gear

    camera gear

  7. SHOES: now this is a new excess that I have to carry in my suitcase: I need to take a few pair off shoes apart of the pair that I will wear during the trip: party shoes, comfortable shoe for walking as well as trainers for other sporty activity.

    different pairs of shoes

    different pairs of shoes

  8. OTHER STUFF: the good news, maybe I don’t need to take map, nor I need to take alarm clock. But I do need the modern gadget: Sat Nav and iPad to have us navigate around and do other things.

Now, can I still travel light? are those 8 items a necessity for a just 5 days holiday? I think the answer is yes and no. Yes if you

Filed under: eJournal, Travel Resources

About the Author

Posted by

I used to live as an expat and travel around the Middle East. After 10 years working in the Arabian Gulf I am now retired and living in the UK with my British husband but still retain my interests of further travels and exploring new horizons in Europe.

12 Comments

  1. Great post that I have similar thoughts on! Really appreciate you liking my blog, and so glad that I have now found yours!

    Like

  2. adenita

    Dari semua setting an blog yang pernah dibuat yayu ini… menurut ade ini yang paling bagus. terutama gambar-gambar untuk icon category sangat pas dan bagus foto-fotonya, khususnya pada artikel yang ini ada suka foto-fotonya…

    Like

  3. Anonymous

    Hahaaa…mirip list gue Nin, cuma sepatu ga segitu banyak. I prefer wear walking shoes for whole day activity and sendal jepit “cantik” buat lain2, kecuali memang ada tujuan party. Accessories :gue suka topi..selalu bawa walaupun nanti diperjalanan ga tahan pasti beli lagi yg baru..Sekarang tambah obat2an “wajib”–(buat kolesterol,anti alergi), obat gosok,…antimo dan diurethic tablet (dulu2 ga pernah perlu) dan yg umum2 obat sakit kepala,sakit perut gitu2. Wajib bawa gue yg lain: kopi,gula+spiral boiler,juga kretek. Total2 bawaan paling makan space malah accesories electronics ya..charger2 camera DSLR,pocket,notebook,hp, adapter2,int socket..sampe g selalu bawa extended cable dgn 4 colokan!!.

    Like

    • Nin

      Hmmm emang ya, semakin tua semakin banyak handicap😦
      Anyway, better off traveling, than staying home and boring. Kata orang: “The world is a book, those who do not travel read only one page.” So keep on traveling list, regardless what packing list you have.

      Anyway, sering mampir Fen, I value your comments.
      Cheers,
      Nina

      Like

      • Nin

        Gitu dong punya blog, dah gw tunggu-tunggu and wondering, you have so many stories to tell, kenapa ga punya blog???
        I will visit yours now….

        Like

      • Nin

        Fe, Untuk jawab dan ga anonymous, di bagian bawah dari box jawaban kamu, kamu bisa isi email, nama dan alamat blog kamu, dan setelah di post, yang muncul cuma nama kamu aja. email ga muncul. Alamat blog ga mandatory, tapi kalo di isi, maka akan jadi link di nama kamu, jadi kalo orang bisa liat blog kamu dengan nge klik nama kamu. tapi kalo ga mau di tengokin, alamat blog ini ga usah di isi.

        Like

  4. Pingback: 2012 | Nins' Travelog

I love to hear from you...

