comments 6

2013

When I stepped into 2013, I didn’t have a special resolution, except to try be more consistent and post a blog at least once a week; I even put the logo of a once a week blog at WordPress. I managed to fullfill my promise till July, and after that I failed to continue, mostly due to distractions in the office, I have too many things on my plate at one time, which makes me tired once I am home and when I need to focus on my blog. I did manage to keep on blogging, sort of every 2 weeks though.

In terms of travel, I managed to go to some new places, such as doing Safaris in Tanzania and Kenya, as well as at long last I managed to visit Yemen, an unpopular country but it’s near to Qatar, so why not. – I will post that story soon. What I did in my photography was adding a new genre of my photography interest with the addition of Wildlife Photography and learnt some pointers by joining David Lloyd’s Photography Safari, where I learned a lot.

To be honest, I have to accept that I can not blog as often as I wish, which is once a week, as I realize, with my day job, I should be happy that I can blog say twice a month. I know that mid year of 2013 I was thinking whether it’s Time to Say Quit my day job as I got so frustrated with it. But as soon as I voice my thoughts on this medium, the company I work with gave me a better job, and I think I should be blessed that I still have an OK job instead complaining. So the decision was made, I will carry on working for a couple of years, before Keith & I call it a day and ride off into the sunset….

My aim is to be a better photographer, so that I can spice up my blog with nice photographs… it’s still a dream; I am not there yet, I am working on it.  However, these are some of my selected better photographs throughout the year.

Overall these are the 2013 posts:

December:

12-26: Christmas for the expat

12-06: Doha life on a Mild Winter

12-01: Masai People (gallery)

November

11-29: Tented Safari in  Masai Mara

11-15:Mendarat di Nairobi

11-09: Lion Pride in Picture (gallery)

October:

10-15: Lion Pride

10-04: Safari in Masai Mara Triangle

September:

09-23: Balloon Ride over Serengeti Plain

09-12: Visa on Arrival in Tanzania

09-05: The truth about African Safari

09-01: Animal Spotting in Tanzania (gallery)

August:

08-23: Photography, Into the Next Level?

08-08: Out on a Mission

08-01: Balinese (gallery)

July:

07-25: What is Versatile

07-18: Weekly Photo Challenge: Golden Hour

07-12: Is Nasi Goreng Most Famous Indonesian Dish?

07-05: Ngaben in Picture (gallery)

June:

06-28: Ngaben

06-21: Henna

06-14: Cemagi Residence

06-06: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sign Says

06-01: Time to Say Quit?

06-01: The Old Forge in Picture (gallery)

May:

05-31: Time to Say Quit?

05-24: The Old Forge

05-17: Photographing Burj Khalifa

05-12: Makan Khafiar di Bandara Heathrow

05-07: The New Dubai and Burj Khalifa

05-01: Palmyra (gallery)

April

04-26: The Great Mosque of Aleppo

04-19: The Souk of Aleppo

04-12: The Umayyad Mosque

04-05: Damascus, In and Out the Old City

04-01: Remembering Syria (gallery)

March

03-29: Qatar’s New Airport

03-25: Budapest’s Architecture

03-16: Saturday Lunchtime

03-10: Visiting St. Stephen’s Baslica

03-05: Budapest in Picture (gallery)

03-01: Visiting Dohány Street Synagogue

February

02-22: Cafe Yogya in Budapest, Mungkinkah?

02-15: Short Break in Budapest

02-08: Applying for Schengen Visa

02-01: Apa itu Visa Schengen

January

01-25: Winter

01-18: Visa untuk Orang Indonesia – updated

01-11: 2012 in Review

01-06: The Pearl Qatar

01-04: New Year, New Content and Maybe…

6 Comments

  1. Absolutely beautiful photos! Love the village in Shaftesbury best, but that’s just me. You and I have the same sort of writing schedule because we are still balancing work with pleasure. Let’s do the best we can and not worry so much in 2014! Love your work. Best wishes for a healthy happy year ahead.

    Like

  2. hani

    The year 2013 had marked some pain in the Darusman clan….the passing of Oma Ati, then Yura at his most productive year and recently Aldo also a young professional leaving a wife and a nine year old little girl. Such is life. Otherwise I try to be thankful for my good health at my age this is precious and hope in the new year I will be able to keep my good health and enjoy your blog with the bueatiful photographs – I enjoy the ones of Africa most…..your photography knowledge exeeds anyone so hope you will continue to share more photos with us.
    I wish you and Keith all the very best in the new year.. lvu

    Like

    • Nin

      T. Han, thank you for being the best follower to my blog. Yes, I agree that in 2013 was not an easy year for some of us; but you also had a good news: Adisti got married. Anyway, as you’ve said, such is life. I think we must be thankful of being alive and enjoy it while we can. Happy New Year to you, and let’s hope that the coming year would be a better year.
      xxx – Nina & Keith

      Like

    • Nin

      Thanks Curt, well that’s my hope, so that the photos will tell their own stories.

      Like

I love to hear from you...

